image description

Soy Sauce vs. Tamari

soysaucecup

While you can substitute tamari for soy sauce, and vice versa, there are differences. Both are made from fermented soybeans, soy flavored sauce originated in China, tamari comes from Japan and is generally darker, richer flavored and less salty than soy sauce, making it a gentler choice, especially for when you are using it in dressings and dips.

Both soy sauce and tamari can contain wheat, but wheat-free versions of tamari are available in most Asian groceries, making it better for anyone with gluten allergies. Shôyu is the Japanese word for soy sauce.

 

Join the Discussion

Comments are closed.

Connect with Us

 

Recent Comments

 

2012 IACP Cookbook Award Finalist

 

CoomMomPicks Pick of the Year